Week 3 Website Optimizing

This is my third week blogging about going through Ariel Hyatt’s “Music Success in 9 Weeks” book.

It really sucks that I am not able to do this chapter right now, because I was really looking forward to making my website better! Not to mention the fact that  I’ve come to realize that my website is kind of my home base for everything and it makes going further a little difficult.

The issue is with the person I hired (and that I have already paid) to do the website, won’t return my emails. That has definitely been my lesson in making and promoting this album. If you can get away with it see if the person you are hiring will let you pay as you go. I think when you pay ahead  it ends up from a psychological perspective like the other person is working to pay off a debt. Which is not very conducive to being creative. I had made an agreement with one person to do the artwork (which he did a tremendous job), album design, website and myspace. At the time it seemed like a good idea. But I probably should have hired separate people because, it has most definitely been very frustrating!

Now I am wondering if I have to try and do it on my own or if I need to pay again to have someone finish it! Either way I will have to come back to it.I am going to move on to the next chapter while I am deciding what to do.

I would much prefer to end on a happier topic, I am going to post my Top 20 albums of the decade here tomorrow! It was fun trying to come up with a list!

2 Responses to “Week 3 Website Optimizing”

  1. Carla Lynne Hall Says:

    Hi there!

    I’m on Ariel’s Music Success judging panel, and I just wanted to stop by to say hello!

    I know that getting a website together can often be a pain, especially when you’re at the mercy of others, but hang in there, and you’ll eventually get what you want.

    Good luck with the contest. We’re rooting for your music success!

    Carla
    http://RockStarLifeLessons.com

    • Rain Rain Music Says:

      Thanks so much. It actually turned out ok. I made a simple one through Bandzoogle. At least I will be able to customize it myself and not be at the mercy of others. Thanks for the well wishes! 🙂

Leave a comment